NEW YORK — The Council of Fashion Designers of America Awards were controversial, but this year’s Fashion Group International benefit plans to push the envelope with its honorees.

This story first appeared in the June 27, 2002 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

FGI, which will host its 19th annual “Night of Stars” on Oct. 24, has selected as its theme “The Provocateurs: Those Who Dare.” Suzy Menkes, fashion editor of the International Herald Tribune, will receive the organization’s Superstar Award, the first time its top honor will go to a journalist. Tom Ford and the Lauder family have received that award in recent years.

Star Awards for fashion design will be presented this year to the controversial Viktor Horsting and Rolf Snoeren of Viktor & Rolf, Manolo Blahnik and Roberto Cavalli. In other categories, Robert A.M. Stern will be honored for architecture, Parfums Christian Dior for beauty and “Moulin Rouge” director Baz Luhrmann and Oscar-winning costume designer Catherine Martin will be honored for film. Each of the recipients have indicated they will attend the event, according to a spokeswoman for FGI.

Victoria’s Secret will also be presented with an award, while other presentations are expected to be finalized later. The event typically draws a roster of big-name celebrities, including Gwyneth Paltrow, Bette Midler, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Michael Douglas, Charlize Theron, George Lucas, Sofia Coppola and Annette Bening at past events.”

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus