View Slideshow

NEW YORK — The Fashion Group International is getting ready to hand out some accolades.

The organization has finalized the list of nominees for its 10th annual Rising Star Awards. The ceremony, to take place Jan. 25 at a luncheon at the New York Hilton, honors emerging talent. Award categories are women’s ready-to-wear, retail, accessories, jewelry, retail, beauty, men’s rtw and interior design.

In women’s rtw, the nominees are Brian Reyes; Erin Fetherston; Tia Cibani of Ports 1961; Lyn Devon; Sari Gueron; Victoria Bartlett of VPL by Victoria Bartlett, and Stacey Bendet of Alice & Olivia.

In the retail category, finalists are Fraser Conlon of Amaridian; Dori Rootenberg of Jacaranda; Lindsey Wieber and Gwen Whiting of The Laundress Inc.; Claudine and Brian Gumbel of Caravan, and Angelique M. Graux and Susan Bartholomew of Zoomies.

Fashion Group’s accessories nominees are Lesley Armstrong and Anke Fox of Armstrong Fox Textiles Inc.; Lora Sappenfield of Mark; Farrah Delauney and Margaret Karner of Massivesilver, Inc. Fine jewelry finalists are Amrita Singh; Christine J. Brandt; Coomi Bhasin of Coomi; Chhaya Kapadia of Maya Jewels; Ceava Kats of Soho Enamel, and Yupadee Kobkul-Boonsiri of Grunberger Jewelers.

In beauty, the fragrance corporate nominees are Monica Rastogi of Estée Lauder; Anahita Mekanik of IFF; Shirley Dong of Avon Products, and Adriana Medina Baez of Givaudan Fragrances Corp. The fragrance entrepreneur nominees are Steven Victor of Victor Cosmeceuticals; Pauline Ashworth and Ruth Stern of Colour Revolution Inc.; Maziar Aghalarpour of Berjang USA Inc.; Shizuka Bernstein of Shizuka New York Inc., and Kristen Becker and John Eshaya of Becker Eshaya Inc.

For men’s rtw, the group of finalists consists of Duncan Quinn of DQ LLC; Brian Wood of Brian Wood Exclusive Inc.; Teres McClen of Teres McClen Collection, and Victor Hugo de Leon and Robert Mazzuccelli of 2M Apparel Ventures LLC.

For home and interior design, the nominees are Sachin and Babi Ahluwalia of Ankasa; David Wiseman of David Wiseman Studio; David Ashen of D-ash Design, and Sophie Mallebranche of eh Qui.

This year’s awards, which are sponsored by Target, Cosmopolitan and Solstiss Bucol, will feature Joseph Abboud as the keynote speaker. Award presenters include Carolina Herrera for women’s rtw; Nicole Fischelis of Macy’s for retail; Cosmopolitan’s Donna Kalajian Lagani for accessories, and Gerard Yosca for fine jewelry.

This story first appeared in the January 9, 2007 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus