NEW YORK — Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne of Public School were crowned the winners of the 2013 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund, while Marc Alary of Marc Alary Jewelry and Juan Carlos Obando were named its runners-up.

The trio was revealed at a dinner gala at Spring Studios in TriBeCa on Monday evening. The event featured keynote speaker Tom Ford, who was introduced by Julianne Moore.

This story first appeared in the November 12, 2013 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

This year’s edition marked the Fashion Fund’s 10th anniversary. The winner will receive a cash prize of $300,000, while the runners-up each take home $100,000. As in the past, each of the three recipients will also be teamed with a business mentor.

RELATED STORY: CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund’s Night Out in New York >>

The other finalists were Nonoo’s Misha Nonoo; Tim Coppens; Veronica Miele Beard and Veronica Swanson Beard of Veronica Beard; Parabellum’s Commodore Jason Jones; Tome’s Ryan Lobo and Ramon Martin; Shimon and Ariel Ovadia of Ovadia & Sons, and Todd Snyder.

Since the first fashion fund in 2004, the program has given out $3.8 million in grants to 30 designers and brands, including past winners such as Greg Chait of The Elder Statesman, who won last year; Joseph Altuzarra; Billy Reid; Alexander Wang, and Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough of Proenza Schouler.

The program is sponsored by partner J. Crew, as well as such underwriters as Vogue, Theory, Tiffany & Co., Tommy Hilfiger, Carolina Herrera, Kate Spade New York, Neiman Marcus, Nordstrom,, The Limited, The Ralph Bartel Foundation, American Express, Coach Foundation and Appleman Foundation. Uniqlo, Lane Bryant and Sycamore Partners joined as underwriters this year.


RELATED CONTENT: Public School Men’s RTW Spring 2014 >>

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus