View Slideshow

FASHION IN THE RAW: At Wednesday’s unveiling of the 10 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund finalists, the crowd couldn’t help but be awed by the enormity of the Westfield World Trade Center’s Santiago Calatrava-designed Oculus, where the event was held.

“She’s taking pictures everywhere,” said Andrew Rosen, pointing to CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg, who was snapping away, and aiming for the perfect shot of the ceiling that was inspired by a dove being release from a child’s hands. “It’s amazing, it’s so powerful,” von Furstenberg said.

Though still raw and under construction, attendees didn’t have to don hard hats. “There are even topiaries here,” said Ken Downing of the sparse but charming decor for the occasion.

Guests included Marcus Wainwright and David Neville, Jennifer Fisher, Dean Harris, Albertus Swanepoel, Jenna Lyons, Reed Krakoff and Deborah Lloyd.

The 10 finalists were determined earlier in the day. “We had a very spirited meeting,” said CFDA chief executive officer Steven Kolb. “It was very difficult to pick 10.”

They were Wes Gordon; Tanya Taylor; Paul Andrew; Daniel Corrigan and Jake Sargent of Simon Miller; Brett Heyman of Edie Parker; Natalie Levy and Grant Krajecki of Grey Ant; Eva Zuckerman of Eva Fehren; Gigi Burris of Gigi Burris Millinery; Ryan Roche, and Orley’s Matt Orley, Alex Orley and Samantha Florence.

Public School’s Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne, last year’s winners of the fund, had some words of wisdom for the new crop.

“One piece of advice that we would have is to really strap in, basically give up your ife in the next five or six months,” Chow said. “Everyone that you know — factory workers, your staff,  your family members — will feel the burden of the next five months but it’s such an amazing ride.”

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus