NEW YORK — Secretary of State Hillary Clinton will be accepting the inaugural Inspiration Award at the Diller-von Furstenberg Awards this Friday.


This story first appeared in the March 11, 2011 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

Diane von Furstenberg and her co-host Tina Brown will honor Clinton at the second edition of the awards, which will take place at the United Nations and are timed around the Newsweek & Daily Beast Women in the World Summit. In 1997, Clinton and then-Secretary of State Madeline Albright were instrumental in creating the Vital Voices Global Partnership.


In addition to Clinton, Elizabeth Smart will receive this year’s Courage Award. Last year, that special award went to Ingrid Betancourt.


Taryn Davis of The American Widow Project will be the recipient of this year’s People’s Voice Award. Kakenya Ntaiya of the Kakenya Center for Excellence and Sohini Chakraborty of Kolkata Sanved will also receive awards that night.


“It is with great pride that we bestow all five of these women with an award of recognition and support,”  von Furstenberg said. “Each winner demonstrates a remarkable level of courage and leadership and serves to inspire other women all over the world.”


Laura Linney, Diane Sawyer, Iman and ambassador Shirin R. Tahir-Kheli will be on hand to present the honors.


The awards were created with the support of the Diller-von Furstenberg Family Foundation to heighten exposure and give resources to individuals who work on women’s causes.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus