DINING AT 1600: First Lady Michelle Obama will welcome Thom Browne, Scott Wilson, Evan Roth and other National Design Award winners to the White House Friday.

The Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, which gives out the National Design Awards, announced Monday that Red Burns will be this year’s Design Patron for her contributions to the design world including being founder of the Interactive Telecommunications program at the Tisch School of the Arts at New York University, and developing a program that provided two-way television for and by senior citizens.

This story first appeared in the July 10, 2012 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus