View Slideshow

EIGHT IS ENOUGH: Lily Allen has joined the jury of the annual H&M Design Award, the Swedish high-street retailer said. Students from 37 fashion schools worldwide submitted their entries for the fourth edition of the prize, to be revealed in January.

The eight finalists are Magdalena Brozda from the Geneva University of Art and Design; Andreas Eklöf from the Swedish School of Textiles; Graham Fan and Fiona O’Neill from Central Saint Martins in London; Andrea Jiapei Li and Ximon Lee from Parsons in New York City; James Kelly from the Royal College of Art in London, and Leonard Kocic from Beckmans College of Design in Stockholm.

This story first appeared in the December 2, 2014 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

One look from each student’s qualifying collection was chosen and shot by French photographer Cécile Bortoletti on Paula Goldstein di Principe, creative director and founder of travel site Voyage D’Etudes. The latter will also sit on the jury of the awards headed by Ann-Sofie Johansson, H&M’s creative head of design, alongside Allen, Luella Bartley, Lucinda Chambers, Tommy Ton, Angelo Flaccavento, Justin O’Shea and Margareta van den Bosch.

The winner will walk away with a collaboration with the fast-fashion giant, a show at Stockholm Fashion Week, a cash prize of 50,000 euros, or $63,200 at current exchange, and a mentorship.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus