NEW YORK — The Fashion Group International is gearing up for its 19th annual Rising Star Awards at Cipriani 42nd Street on Jan. 28.

This year’s contenders for women’s ready-to-wear are Brandon Maxwell; Houghton’s Katharine Polk; Ji Oh; Kempner’s Meggie Kempner; MM.LaFleur’s Sarah LaFleur; Nha Khanh’s Khanh Nguyen; Novis’ Jordana Warmflash, and Orley’s Alex, Matthew and Samantha Orley.

Men’s wear nominees are EFM’s Donrad Duncan; Greg Lauren; Malan Breton Homme’s Malan Breton; Peyman Umay, and Rochambeau’s Laurence Chandler and Joshua Cooper.

Sponsored by Hearst Magazine and Saks Fifth Avenue, the luncheon’s women’s wear award will be presented by Nina Garcia and the men’s wear one will be given by David Curcurito. The luncheon is expected to attract a crowd of 400 including Tommy Hilfiger. As a warm-up for the event, Saks Fifth Avenue will host a private cocktail party Jan. 12 for the nominees.

Cornelia Guest will present the prize for accessories, which has seven nominees — Dee Ocleppo’s Dee Ocleppo Hilfiger; Edie Parker’s Brett Heyman; Freida Rothman; Yliana Yepez; MR.’s Heather Hubbard; Shoes of Prey’s Jodie Fox, Michael Fox,  Mike Knapp, and Soak’s Elena Corsano and Michelle Vale.

Presenter Carol Brodie will do the honors for fine jewelry, where the nominees are By/Natalie Frigo’s Natalie Frigo; Cadar’s Michael Kadar; Meredith Marks, and Katie Scott Jewelry’s Katie Scott.

Birchbox’s Katia Beauchamp will hand over the Beauty/Fragrance Entrepreneur award to one of the following — Amazon Beauty Inc./Rahua’s Fabian Lliguin; Drunk Elephant Skin Care’s Tiffany Masterson; Mèreadesso’s Linda Stephenson; Scenterprises’ Sue Phillips, or Vbeauté’s Julie Macklowe.

Bergdorf Goodman’s senior vice president of women’s fashion and store presentation Linda Fargo will deliver the keynote address at this month’s luncheon. For the Retail Rising Star, this year’s competitors include Plan de Ville’s Catherine Smith; The Sweet Shop NYC’s Kelly Jaime; Trunk’s Aimee Grubel; Radka Osickova; Natasha Samoylenko and Zady’s Maxine Bèdat. Saks Fifth Avenue’s senior vice president and fashion director Roopal Patel will reveal that winner.

Margaret Russell, editor in chief of Architectural Digest, will reveal this year’s winner for Home/Interior Design. Aerin’s Aerin Lauder, Dipali Patwa of Mela Artisans and Savage Interior Design’s Jonathan Savage are in the race for that honor.

For the Beauty/Fragrance Corporate award, Estée Lauder’s Lab Series Skincare for Men’s Stefano Ruggieri; Clio Ermenidis of Firmenich, Givaudan’s Linda Song; and Ana Paredes of the LVMH Fragrance Brands-owned Givenchy will find out from Elle’s Emily Dougherty who will go home with that honor.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus