WOMAN POWER: The five laureates of the 17th annual For Women in Science awards were revealed Tuesday. The L’Oréal Foundation in partnership with UNESCO yearly recognizes the achievements of five female scientists, each of whom works in the physical sciences and hails from a different part of the globe.

This story first appeared in the March 3, 2015 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

The women will be awarded during a ceremony to take place in Paris on March 18 at the Sorbonne.

From North America is Molly S. Shoichet, recognized for her approach to biomaterial development to regenerate damaged nerve tissue and the way she conceived a means to deliver medication to the spinal cord and brain. Representing Africa and the Arab States is Rajaâ Cherkaoui El Moursli, for her role in the effort leading to the detection of the Higgs Boson particle. Yi Xie, from the Asia-Pacific region, was chosen for her work with new two-dimensional nanomaterials to convert heat or sunlight into electricity.

Representing Europe is Carol Robinson, acknowledged for having created a revolutionary method of studying protein function, particularly in cell membranes that play a crucial role in the human body.

From Latin America is Thaisa Storchi Bergmann, lauded for her research into black holes in the center of galaxies.

Fifteen female Ph.D. students and post-doctoral fellows have also been chosen for International Rising Talent Grants. They will take part in the awards ceremony as well.


load comments