The New School’s Parsons School of Design will honor its all-star alumni Marc Jacobs and LVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton, which owns Marc Jacobs International, at its 67th annual Parsons Fashion Benefit May 19.

Condé Nast artistic director and Vogue editor in chief Anna Wintour will present the designer with his award and Saks Fifth Avenue president Marc Metrick will do the honors for LVMH. Fittingly, Moët Hennessy USA will provide the Champagne, wine and spirits for guests at the River Pavilion at the Jacob K. Javits Center in New York. Vanessa Friedman will deliver the keynote address during this year’s benefit.

Jacobs, a two-time honoree who graduated from Parsons in 1984, and LVMH will be saluted for their contributions to fashion design. They follow in the footsteps of such honorees as Jason Wu and Hugo Boss in 2014, Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez and Haudson’s Bay in 2013, Donna Karan in 2012 and Reed Krakoff in 2011. One of the Fashion Benefit’s highlights is the graduating students’ runway show and the announcement of the Designer of the Year awards. Jacobs knows a bit about the latter, having won the award in 1984.

Other Parsons alum have been gaining ground in the fashion landscape including last year’s Menswear Designer of the Year Ximon Lee, who was awarded the 2015 H&M Design Award in January. Lee is also in the running for the 2015 LVMH Young Fashion Designer Prize as a finalist, along with MFA Fashion Design and Society alumna Andrea Jiapei Li. LVMH seems to have an eye on Parsons for future talent considering alumni Chris Gelinas and Erin Beatty were also finalists for the LVMH Prize last year.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus