NARCISO WINS: Renowned as he is for dressing celebrities like Rachel Weisz and Emma Stone, Narciso Rodriguez is more inclined to be found in his atelier than to personally walk the red carpet. But the designer will be the center of attention when he receives the Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum’s Fashion Design award this fall.

“At this stage in my career to be recognized with this reward is really moving to me,” Rodriguez said Wednesday. “My work is my life and so much of my life has been my work.”

This story first appeared in the May 1, 2014 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

Rodriguez is not a stranger to the Cooper-Hewitt, having had his work featured in the 2006 Trienniale and having spoken publicly about his craft at museum. Cooper-Hewitt director Caroline Baumann tipped him off to his win in a letter earlier this week.

In its 15th year, the National Design Awards will be held at Pier Sixty. First Lady Michelle Obama will once again serve as the honorary patron but she will not attend the gala.

This year’s Lifetime Achievement award winners will be Ivan Chermayeff and Tom Geismar, the creative team behind the New York-based brand design firm Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv. Their fellow honorees include Witold Rybczynski for Design Mind; Etsy for Corporate & Institutional Achievement; Brooks + Scarpa for Architecture Design; the San Francisco-based studio Office for Communication Design; Aaron Koblin for Interaction Design; Roman and Williams Buildings and Interiors for Interior Design; LUNAR for Product Design and Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architecture.

Anna Sui and Celerie Kemble helped out with the selection process by serving on the 2014 NDA jury.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus