PROJECT MANGO: The Mango Fashion Awards were created to help emerging talents produce and market their collections. The competition offers the biggest prize money in its category, distributed into 10 payments of 18,000 euros, or $22,700 at current exchange, to each of the 10 finalists, and a top prize of 300,000 euros, or $381,570, for the winner. The event is held every 18 months and involves five European fashion design schools: Central Saint Martins School of Art and Design, ESDi, Institut Français de la Mode, Istituto Marangoni and Koninklijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten van Antwerpen.

This fourth edition has a final jury that includes Carolina Herrera as the chairman. Jury members include Kate Moss, Geraldine Saglio, Derek Blasberg, Coleen Sherin, Jaime de Marichalar, Laura Ponte, photographers Claudia & Stefan, past award winner Lena Lumelski, Mango president Isak Andic and Mango image director Frans Bonet. The process starts out with 200 entries, which are culled down to 50. Those are winnowed down to 10 finalists. The final jury is responsible for evaluating the 10 finalists, who present their collections to the judges during the competition’s final gala in Barcelona. The awards conclude on May 30.

This story first appeared in the May 23, 2012 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus