Swarovski Collective 2017

LONDONSwarovski has named 11 designers who will be a part of the Swarovski Collective 2017, a 12-month program where they will receive financial aid and will incorporate the crystals with their spring 2017 and fall 2017 collections. They are Emilia Wickstead, Faustine Steinmetz, Sadie Williams, Rosie Assoulin, Tome, Creatures of the Wind, Aalto, Anne Sofie Madsen, Arthur Arbesser, Vivetta and Wanda Nylon.

“Exploring new techniques is something that has always inspired my work,” said Steinmetz. “I’m looking forward to seeing where the almost endless possibilities of working with Swarovski will take me.”

Winner of the Swarovski Collective Award 2016, Assoulin joins the roster again. “I always say that it’s like digging into a treasure trove,” said Assoulin. “Being a part of the collective means we have access to amazing materials and to an amazing team that provides an invaluable amount of support.”

RELATED STORY: Rosie Assoulin Wins the Swarovski Collective Award >>

One of the 11 designers will win the 25,000 euro ($27,663 at current exchange) Swarovski Collective Prize in June 2017.

The designers were selected by member of the Swarovski executive board Nadja Swarovski alongside a newly created panel. “It was an honor to participate and be able to influence which young designers are to receive the much-needed support and creative partnership of Swarovski. This is an incredible boost to so many designers’ careers, a relationship that goes deeper than just one season and beyond just the creative use of crystals,” said panelist Jefferson Hack, who added that the collective is a new formula “for how business can continue to support and encourage new creative energies in fashion.”

The 11 designers will showcase their spring 2017 ranges during New York, London, Milan and Paris fashion weeks, which begin in September.

Launched in 1999, the Swarovski Collective works with designers who utilize the brand’s Austrian crystals with their collections. Previous participants include Alexander McQueen, Altuzarra, Proenza Schouler, Jason Wu, Rodarte, Alexander Wang, Hussein Chalayan, Viktor&Rolf, Christopher Kane, Erdem, Mary Katrantzou and Anthony Vaccarello.