THE MAYOR’S CHOICE: Bill de Blasio is adding some sparkle to his inauguration committee. The New York mayor-elect has named Gabrielle Fialkoff, president and chief operating office of Haskell Jewels, as Chair of Inauguration. Fialkoff will lead the inauguration committee in planning and executing de Blasio’s official welcome, which kicks off with the official swearing in at midnight on Dec. 31, followed by a ceremonial swearing in the following day. She will also oversee all other related festivities throughout the city.

Fialkoff has held her position at Haskell Jewels since 2002. Before entering the fashion industry, Fialkoff played the political field, including a stint as finance director for Hillary Rodham Clinton’s Senate race in 2000. She also served as finance chair during de Blasio’s mayoral campaign. Members of the inaugural committee include Sarah Jessica Parker, Susan Sarandon, Alan Cumming and author Junot Diaz.

This story first appeared in the December 9, 2013 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.