The Capezio Ballet Makers Dance Foundation has named choreographer and dancer Twyla Tharp the recipient of the 62nd annual Capezio Dance Award.

Awarded annually since 1952, the Capezio Dance Award recognizes significant contributions to American dance by an individual, company or institution. It is awarded to those who bring respect, stature and distinction to dance and who exhibit qualities such as innovation, creativity and imagination. The foundation is a philanthropic organization funded by the world’s premier dance and apparel manufacturer, Capezio Ballet Makers.

A recipient of a Tony Award and two Emmy Awards, Tharp has choreographed more than 160 works including 129 dances, 12 television specials, six Hollywood movies, four full-length ballets, four Broadway shows and two figure-skating routines. She has also received the 2004 National Medal of the Arts, the 2008 Jerome Robbins Prize and a 2008 Kennedy Center Honor.

Upon graduation from Barnard College in 1963, she made her debut as a dancer with the Paul Taylor Dance Company. Two years later, she founded her own company, Twyla Tharp Dance. Her dances are known for creativity, wit and technical precision coupled with a streetwise nonchalance. In addition to choreographing for her own company, she has created dances for the Joffrey Ballet, the Paris Opera Ballet, The Royal Ballet and the New York City Ballet.

Details have not been finalized for an awards ceremony, but the award will be presented to Tharp before the close of 2013, said Lisa Giacoio Egan, the newly appointed president of the foundation.

“Twyla Tharp and her long, illustrious career has made a great impact in the dance field, and her body of work has brought so much pleasure to many audiences worldwide,” said Giacoio Egan.

Tharp could not be reached at press time.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus