YES HE CANNES: Sean Penn, who was president of the jury at the Cannes Film Festival four years ago, will be back in the French Riviera resort this year to bestow a special award on two up-and-coming actors on May 17. Penn will be the patron of this year’s edition of the Chopard Trophy, created by the Geneva-based jewelry and watch firm Chopard, which this year celebrates its 15th anniversary as partner of the festival. Previous winners of the award include Marion Cotillard, Gael García Bernal, Jonathan Rhys Meyers and Diane Kruger. The 2012 winners, which have yet to be announced, were chosen in partnership with Variety magazine by a jury including director Michael Roskam, producer Sarah Siegel-Magness, actress Sharon Lawrence, Variety features editor Steve Gaydos and Chopard co-president and creative director Caroline Scheufele.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus