J. Nicholas Hahn

Cotton Incorporated announced its 2016 class of the Cotton Research and Promotion Hall of Fame on Friday.

The program, now in its third year, recognizes U.S. cotton industry leaders that have made significant contributions to the program or to the cotton industry in general. The honorees will be formally inducted into the Cotton Research and Promotion Program Hall of Fame at the joint Cotton Incorporated-Cotton Board annual meeting this December in New Orleans.

The four honorees for the 2016 Cotton Research and Promotion Hall of Fame include J. Nicholas “Nick” Hahn, William A. “Bill” Baxter, Kent Nix and the late Jack S. Hamilton.

Hahn held several positions at Cotton Inc. and has the distinction of leading the company twice, as both the second and fourth president and chief executive officer. Hahn built on the marketing legacy of Dukes Wooters, the organization’s first president, and elevated the company’s marketing efforts to new levels of sophistication.

Baxter has served as a board member of Cotton Council International, a member delegate of the National Cotton Council, and as a director and chairman of the Cotton Board. Baxter has also been the recipient of the Arkansas Cotton Achievement Award and was elected into the Arkansas Agricultural Hall of Fame in 1999. Baxter serves as president and operating officer of Baxter Land Co.

Nix is recognized for his long tenure and strong leadership during his time on The Cotton Board, beginning his service as an alternate and transitioning through the ranks before becoming chairman. His role in ensuring and including the importer segment of the industry was instrumental to the program. Nix has also served on the Plains Cotton Growers Board and the Plains Cotton Improvement Committee.

Hamilton provided many years of leadership and dedication to the industry, having served as chairman of Cotton Inc. and of the National Cotton Council, a director of Cotton Council International and president of the Southern Cotton Ginners Association. Hamilton also served as the first president of the Louisiana Cotton & Grain Association, an organization he helped found in 1968.

The Cotton Research and Promotion Program was established in 1966 to expand the demand for upland cotton and to increase profitability for both cotton growers and importers of cotton products.

“Over the past few decades, the cotton industry has continued to evolve and advance in many ways,” said J. Berrye Worsham, president and ceo of Cotton Inc. “The tireless dedication and many contributions of the 2016 Hall of Fame Inductees have shaped the industry as we know it today and will further impact future growth and advancement.”

The 2016 honorees of the Cotton Research and Promotion Program Hall of Fame were chosen from nominations made by Certified Producer and Importer Organizations and voted upon by the Chairman’s Committee of the Cotton Incorporated Board.

Cotton Inc., funded by U.S. cotton producers and importers of cotton and cotton textile products, conducts worldwide research and promotion activities to increase the demand for and profitability of cotton.